I write to take back my power…

NightandDaybySchachner

Night and Day by Schachner

I write to take back my power.

Every time I write, I take back my power in small and large ways, and I give voice to that little girl I was who felt unloved and unworthy.

Every time I write, I am reminded that I matter and my stories matter.

I can push back on those people that told me that my writing wasn’t writing, that my voice didn’t matter, because I’m a woman of color who grew up in poverty in Bushwick, Brooklyn when it was a pile of rubble.

I can push back on those who looked down on my brother because of his addiction and his pain.

Through writing I can show them that the addicts people give a wide berth to are human beings who have been through something so devastating, they turned to drugs to numb themselves and escape.

It’s why I return to the page over and over. We’re made to feel powerless in so many ways. The page reminds me that there are ways I can fight back. There are ways I can make myself heard.

Writing is my way.

–Shaken baby syndrome by Vanessa Mártir

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maryann
    May 06, 2016 @ 07:40:16

    Wow! What a powerful piece!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

