Definition #351 House in the Woods

Today's View of House in the Woods

Today’s View of House in the Woods

I want to visit the house in the woods with dog hair, wood stair,  timber flare .

I want to hear the house in the woods with cat purrs, pump whirs, cook stirs.

I want to hold the house in the woods upon my lap; caress tots, swing  mops, arrange pots.

I want to care for the house in the woods, for the family there, the wind everywhere, the pond, the woods, the air.

Robert Fitzgerald described Homer as “a living voice in firelight or in the open air, a living presence bringing into life his great company of imagined persons, a master performer at his ease, touching the strings, disposing of many voices, many tones and tempos, tragedy, comedy, and glory, holding his [listeners] in the palm of his hand.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine Johnson
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 10:00:18

    What a great scene and wonderful poem x

    Reply

  2. jeannepoland
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 11:24:10

    I am still not mobile enough to drive to my grandchildren’s house in the woods, but my son sent me this photo he took of them this AM! It’s another marvelous internet visit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

